Grow your own Tomatoes, from a Tomato!

Did you know, that from slices of Ripe juicy red Tomatoes, you can grow a whole plant FULL of them! no? me either haha until I found the method of Pinterest and HAD to have a go! to test the method myself of course and to see if it actually IS that easy.

 

So here it is… all you need is

1 Red ripe juicy Tomato

A tray for seeds

Good compost

Cling film

A sunny window sill to start them off.

 

Step 1…Slice your Tom into equal slices.  You don’t want to use the end slices as they won’t hold many if any seeds in them. I ended up with 4 decent slices.  (FYI you can do this cherry Toms too!)

Step 2… Fill your tray pots 2/3 full of good compost.

Step 3… place 1 slice into each pot and cover with about 1cm of compost (I did not know if I should compress the compost.  So to play safe I decided to not compress)

Step 4… Give the tray a good dash of water

Step 5… Cover with cling film

Step 6… Place in a sunny window sill if its still quite chilly outside (these plants need heat and moisture)

And that’s it! I’ll update as soon as I see some magic start to happen!

One thought on “Grow your own Tomatoes, from a Tomato!

  1. Pingback: Grow food from scraps! | Rustic Greenhouse garden

Leave a Reply

